The Life of an Average Teen

Last night I was laying in bed gathering my thoughts, nothing out of the ordinary. All of sudden a question popped into my head and I asked myself, “What is one word you would use to describe your whole life right now?” The first word I thought of was average. Average. My life is average. I live in an average sized home, with my mom, dad, and two younger brothers. My dad works while my mom stays at home. If I want to work out, I go for a run. I have good grades at school, but nothing extraordinary. I have a handful of friends that I trust. I follow the rules. I have a loving boyfriend. I watch Netflix when I’m bored. I’m just average. 

I started to become frustrated. I have not lived for 18 years to just to become average. I want to leave a footprint on the world, just like it has on me. Then I looked back on myself differently. 

Not everyone lives in an average sized home. In fact, some people don’t live in a true home at all. Some people don’t get the luxury of having both their parents together. Not everyone has siblings like I do, especially one who is on a state runner-up champions volleyball team, and one who can memorize practically anything. There is nothing average about working out. Lots of people don’t do it at all. There is nothing average about rolling out of bed at 6:30am just to go on a run. That’s dedication and strength. Who cares if there’s people doing the exact same thing as you? That doesn’t mean you are mixed with them. You aren’t average. I have good grades, I work hard and though sometimes I act like I don’t, I do care about school and I care about it a lot. Just because I wasn’t the valedictorian my senior year, doesn’t mean I’m average. I have fantastic friends, that does not mean they are average. They go out of their way to help me and I couldn’t ask for a better group of people. Not everyone has the relationship I do with my boyfriend. There’s no doubt that there are people in abusive relationships, emotionally, physically, and even financially. Luckily, I don’t have to endure the pain that goes along with that. My relationship with my boyfriend is wonderful, not average. Though Netflix may seem average, I can tell you that the weird combination of shows I watch is probably not average. 

On that note, I hope you guys realize that you are all extraordinary in your own way. It all depends on how you look at your life. Positivity is key! 

-Hannah 

4 thoughts on “The Life of an Average Teen

  1. If I ever find myself thinking about everything I don’t have, I think about what I do have. It usually makes me feel a lot better! Everyone appreciates something about their life, even if it takes a bit of thinking and imagination to find! Thanks for the lovely comment 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.