Gatlinburg, Tennessee

I just got back from a vacation in Gatlinburg, Tennessee! It was absolutely beautiful there and the weather was much nicer than it is here in Ohio… 

We went as a group of mother and daughters from my Girl Scout troop. It was kinda our last hoorah since we will all be going off to college this year. 

We rented a nice cabin in the mountains (which took us ages to find), but once we got there we couldn’t have been more pleased. The view from the hot tub was gorgeous!  

 

We went out to dinner at a restaurant called The Old Mill in Pigeon Forge. I highly recommend it if anyone is planning to go to the Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge area for a vacation! Each meal came with soup, a salad, fritters, rolls, green beans, mashed potatoes, and a dessert. You can’t get much better than that! 

We went shopping in Gatlinburg for a day, and even though it was 97° and our legs were sore, we saw a lot of neat shops and had fun! I bought some taffy, chocolate/peanut butter fudge, and some vanilla fudge for my boyfriend. As you can see, my priorities are definitely the sweets. That evening, we went to Dick’s Last Resort for dinner. I will only recommend this restaurant if you have a sense of humor though… The waiters are very sarcastic and will occasionally throw napkins or straws at you. They also make you these paper hats and make fun of you.  

 

If you can’t read it, mine says, “I practice kissing on my Justin Bieber poster.” Which may or may not be true, if I had a Justin Bieber poster… Kinda seems like a fun job, though I’d feel bad for writing mean things on people’s hats even if that’s why they came to the restaurant. If you have a sarcastic sense of humor and can take a joke, this is the place for you. The food was also delicious! We had a blast!

The next day we went to an outdoor gravity park and rolled down a huge hill in a hamster ball basically. It’s hard to explain because I don’t really get it myself, but it’s a huge ball with a smaller ball inside held up by cables that has water in it. You sit down in the smaller ball with the water and the inside ball stays up while the outside one rolls. Okay, I don’t think I’m making any sense, here’s a picture. 

  
I found this on Google, so I didn’t take it, but it’s exactly what we did! 

After that we drove through the Smoky Mountains for a bit and then went to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. for dinner. It wasn’t planned, but I watched Forrest Gump with my little brother the day before the trip! (Such a great movie…) Anyway, I was voted team captain when we were quizzed on our knowledge of Forrest Gump and we did pretty darn great! Here’s a picture of my coconut shrimp. It was fantastic! That’s all I have to say about that.

 (Yes, that was a Forrest Gump reference, I just had to).

  

And of course we realxed and hung out in the hot tub! Just enjoying our last time together for a while. We’ve been together since kindergarten so it’s definitely going to be a huge change, but I’m looking forward to what the future holds for all of us! 

-Hannah

