I’m Back From Vacation!

Hello everyone! I am back from my vacation! It was a really fun and interesting few days, so here’s my post to inform you about it! 

I won’t disclose the exact location, just for Internet safety reasons I guess. I went to Michigan though! I go every year with my family and have been practically since I was born. 

It’s actually a family tradition of ours to go on vacation there. It all started when my grandma and her family went when she was about 9 years old. They went every year to stay in a cabin by the lake. Eventually that cabin sunk in. My great aunt got married to a man  up there and they bought a house that was for sale right across where the old cabin used to be. To this day, me, my mom, 2 brothers, grandma, aunt, 2 uncles, and 9 cousins go up to visit every summer. Though my great aunt passed away from breast cancer 8 years ago, her daughter and son still own the house. Neither of them wanted to give up the lake house, plus it’s great for visitors like my family! It’s quite small, so we don’t all fit. Lots of air mattresses are required. Me and 3 of my cousins, my grandma calls us “the older girls,” (I’m the oldest of all my cousins!) decided to sleep outside in a tent. My 16 year old brother and 18 year old cousin slept outside in another tent. 

The first night there was a TON of heat lighting. It was seriously like a strobe light. It was really bright and I absolutely could not sleep. Especially since everything was brighter outside in the tent. I went inside and my cousins followed. It wasn’t raining yet, but once we set up our sleeping bags in the living room it started to pour. We decided that we made the right choice to come inside. The lighting still wasn’t stopping. An hour passed and I was still trying to sleep. The light was just too much, even with my eyes closed I could see the flashes. I stood up and looked out the window at the lake for a while. It was actually really beautiful. Every once in a while a huge flash would light up the whole sky. My grandma and cousin eventually got up with me. We watched the storm for a while, but once it calmed down and the flashes weren’t as frequent I went to sleep. My cousin that was in the tent with my brother came in once the storm was ending. He said his stuff was all wet and that my brother was still asleep. 

The next morning my brother woke up and had absolutely no idea that there was even a storm. His stuff was completely drenched, so he must’ve been exhausted to not have noticed! 

The next day we swam in the lake and fished for most of the day. A lot of my family that lives there came to say hi. My mom’s cousin recently passed away and he wanted to be cremated and have his ashes put into the lake. All the adults got onto a pontoon boat to have a little ceremony. Before he died, he told my grandma that he wanted everyone to eat pizza, so we ordered a ton of pizza!  
 

The next day we went up to Lake Michigan (which is freezing!!!) I could barely stand in the water without my legs going numb, but it’s like that every year so I’m pretty used to it. At least it’s nice to make sandcastles on the beach and just relax. 

  
So those are pretty much the highlights! I wasn’t able to be active because there’s absolutely no cell service or internet where we stay. I’m kinda glad though, that way I can just take a true break from the fast paced world we live in. 

There was a time though where my grandma texted me and I received the text at 1:00am which was 12 hours later and it read, “Hi.” I was confused at why my grandma was trying to have a texting conversation with me at 1 o’clock in the morning at first, but then I realized she sent it earlier to see if her phone was working. I guess all our phones worked at inconvenient times! 

Well, that’s it for my vacation update. I hope you all have a wonderful week! πŸ™‚ 

-Hannah

pictures taken by me! 

5 thoughts on “I’m Back From Vacation!

  1. AWW! That sounds seriously amazing. You’re SO lucky! πŸ™‚ I would have loved to be somewhere like that, because it just sounds so peaceful and FREE.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.