Lessons I’ve Learned From Running That Apply to Life

I’ve been a runner for a solid 6 years of my life. It’s been a huge part of my life and taught me so many things. I just wanted to share what it has taught me before I head off to college. I won’t be a part of a running team anymore, and it’s quite heartbreaking. 

1. Don’t give up. 

Yes, you will have bad days. Wait, no, you’ll have awful days. Dreadful even. They will SUCK. You will want to give up, you will want to quit, and you will just want to crawl in a hole and lay there forever. Don’t. Don’t give up, don’t quit, don’t accept results you don’t want. If you work hard day in and day out, you are bound to have bad days. That’s just a part of hard work. Give yourself 10 minutes of anger, get mad, REALLY mad. Then, stop. Move on. Keep your head up and  put in some more work the next day. You’ll get there. 

2. The ‘little things’ matter 

The big picture is important, but the details are as well. Pay attention to them. In fact, give them as much attention as you would the big picture. Do 100 push-ups a day even if you are training for a running event. Do add a few more well-contructed sentences to make your essay even better. Do stay at work a little late to make one more phone call. It will make you a well-rounded and overall better person, all it takes is a little extra effort. 

3. Surround yourself with positive people

It’s nearly impossible to be happy for yourself when everyone around you is being a Debby Downer. Yes, when your friends are being negative, cheer them up! But when they are constantly negative about themselves, or maybe even questioning your success, you need to confront them about it, or take them out of your life! You don’t need negativity. You are trying to reach a goal and you need people who can stand behind you and help you. 

4. You will fail, but don’t let that stop your goals

This is a scary one. No one likes failing, no one wants to fail. I’m sure most of us have thought something like “I’ll get at least an 85% on this test for sure!” And sure enough, we get our test back and it’s a 76%. We didn’t technically fail the test, but we failed to reach our goal. And this is bound to happen, but don’t set your goals lower. Don’t make the next goal “I’ll at least get a 30%.” NO. Set your standards high or else you won’t try as hard! You think you will, but it’s so much harder to do that when your goals are low. Reach for the stars! 

5. “Life is a marathon, not a sprint” 

Us humans like things to happen now and fast. We tend to get frustrated if they don’t go the way we planned. There’s going to be obstacles! You might get a cramp, or have to go the long way around a corner, but don’t let that stop you! Take your time. You’ll make it there! Take a deep breath my friend. 

6. When you reach your goal, acknowledge it, and be proud! 

Don’t pretend like it’s not a big deal! Reaching a goal is always huge. Treat yourself as everyone congratulates you on a job well done. 🙂 

There’s so much more I’ve learned, I think it’s more personal for me though! So there’s 5 things I figure are worth sharing! 

Have any sports or activities you’ve been involved in taught you any life lessons? Maybe the same ones mine did? Let me know! 

-Hannah

