“Back to School”

You know what I hate? Back to school.

You know what I love? Back to school!

It’s one of those weird contradictions for me. I hate it, well, because it’s school and I like to be lazy and not have to use my brain or stress over deadlines, or stress over the fact that if I fail, then I wasted a ton of money on the class, and it may prevent me from getting a spot in grad school and then I’ll be screwed for the rest of my life :)…BUT THAT’S NOT THE POINT. I love back to school because SCHOOL SUPPLY SHOPPING!!!

I’m not even sure why I love it so much. I think it just gets me more motivated for the year to see all those pretty new pens and pencils! Like, boy do I want to write my biology notes with that thing!

“Mom, I have to have it! I’ll be so much more motivated if I have a green sparkly pen!”

I went shopping this morning with my mom, and when I say morning I mean morning. 8am sharp. I wasn’t too mad about it though, I mean, I really need to get used to waking up early for school anyway so that I’m not a complete zombie the first week. That wouldn’t be the impression I want to give off! At least for the first week, after that…well…

Plus, Walmart is having a tax-free weekend on school supplies (at least where I live) and my mom wanted to get there early before everyone raided the place. Well, we get there and there’s like one old lady buying pencils. So I guess I could’ve eaten breakfast. Thanks mom.

Anyway, we got quite a few things for my brothers and things that I needed for college. Except to be honest, I’m still not sure how I want to organize my stuff in college because it’s my first year and I’m not entirely sure what to expect. I just bought everything I could possibly need, and if I don’t use it, it’s not a huge deal.

I’m not going to do a school supply shopping haul or anything, but I did get some pretty nifty things! My favorite is this magnetic silvery metallic white board! I got a cool planner and some colorful pens that I’m excited for as well.

I also saw notebooks for 17 cents and I freaked out and bought 6. I really don’t think I’ll need that many, but 17 CENTS.

Hopefully back to school will be more bearable with my rad pens and cheap notebooks!

I’m actually quite excited for college though, I’m just worried about the whole exams and essays and working part. I really do want to learn new things and meet new people and find myself!

The term “Back to School” just makes everything sound bad because it’s like “WELL SUMMER IS OVER I GUESS ITS BACK TO SCHOOL BECAUSE IT’S YOUR ROUTINE THAT YOU ARE STUCK IN AND YOU HAVE NO CHOICE SO IT SUCKS FOR YOU KIDS LOL”

Maybe that’s just me…

So, have you guys been school supply shopping yet? What’s your favorite thing to buy?

-Hannah

13 thoughts on ““Back to School”

  1. Ugh, I totally get you. I miss my friends and hate the work :/
    As for school shopping, I’ve pretty much been buying clothes and supplies sporadically over the course of the summer. I guess it takes away a little bit of the sparkle of shiny new supplies, but if I wait till last minute more often then not I’ll be beyond stressed!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I LOVED going school shopping. I was at Walmart at 6am this morning and nobody was there so I just went and looked at all the school stuff. It kinda bummed me out that I don’t have to school shop this year. Haha, but my brother and my mom bought like almost 90 of those 17 cents (or 14 cents I think they may have been here) notebooks. I’m not kidding. 😀

    Like

  3. Don’t be nervous for college! I’m sure you bought one (this is one of my favorite things to buy), but my biggest piece of advice is to buy a planner and actually use it. It gets hard to keep track of all the things you have to do trying to balance between classes, clubs, and friends; A planner can clear your mind so you don’t have so much going on at once to stress you out!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I would not be able to function without a planner! Yes, I got one and it has everything I need and more so I’m really happy with it. I’m glad other people enjoy planners because my brothers don’t and it truly stresses me out xD

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.