Who am I Going to Be? 

So I leave for college soon. Like, really soon. Scarily soon. Like this week soon. 

There’s something that just keeps going through my head. Who am I going to be? Who will I be after college? 

This question is relevant because college practically decides what I will be doing in the future for the rest of my life hopefully until retirement. 

I’ve had multiple career phases in my life:

  • Teacher
  • Veterinarian 
  • Doctor
  • Forensic Scientist 
  • Physical Therapist
  • Athletic Trainer 
  • Psychologist 
  • Counselor 

So what did I finally decide on? 

None of these. My career choice came completely out of the blue. I didn’t even know what to call it. 

I asked my mom this, “Mom, is there a job out there where you can help people communicate and train them to have better social skills?” 

I got this idea from a book, it’s entitled House Rules by Jodi Picoult. I’d consider it one of my favorite books because well, I chose my career from it! And, I really did enjoy the book. 

The main character had Asperger’s. This is now known as Autism Spectrum Disorder because Asperger’s is not a valid diagnosis any longer. It is now considered a part of ASD. For the sake of the book that was written before the elimination of the term Asperger’s, I will briefly describe what it was. It was considered a high functioning autism. Google gives the definition as “A developmental disorder affecting ability to effectively socialize and communicate.”

Anyway, the main character had a tutor who would help him in daily human interaction that’s how I came up with my career! 

I did some research and found something called a Speech-Language Pathologist. 

According to the American Speech-Language Hearing Association, Speech-language pathologists (SLPs) work to prevent, assess, diagnose, and treat speech, language, social communication, cognitive-communication, and swallowing disorders in children and adults. 

So, not only am I helping people with social communication, I’m helping them with speech, or swallowing disorders. Lots of people are more aware with the term speech therapist. 

Many of my friends and family members had to go through speech therapy as a child. I was unaware of how many people actually did go to an SLP! I think it’s a hard subject for people and it’s not really something that comes up in day-to-day conversation. 

Now, I know a lot of you out there are unsure of what you want to do in the future. So I’m going to share with you some things I love about Speech-Language Pathology because who knows? It might spark some interest. 

  • You can work with so many different people. Toddlers, kids, people who have suffered severe head trauma, individuals with a mental disability, and stroke victims!
  • As a result, you can work in a variety of places, schools, hospitals, rehab centers, and so many more! The possibilities are endless! 
  • Every client is different. You could be working on so many different types of cases in a day. This prevents a boring routine! 
  • You never stop learning. New research comes out all the time in this field! 
  • You can be self-employed
  • You can be creative in coming up with ways to help a certain client
  • I can’t wait for the feeling of seeing your client reach their goal and progressing from there! 
  • If you work with kids, you get to inform and teach their parents as well. Some counseling skills may be involved in this because it can be a touchy subject! 
  • Making an everlasting impact on people’s lives. 

Now obviously I am not in this field yet, so these points are solely based off of my research. 

So, in college I will be majoring in Communication Sciences and Disorders (CSD). Then, I will be going to grad school for two years to get my master’s in Speech-Language Pathology. 

If you are interested in this field, I highly suggest you do some research!

Anyway, that’s a bit about what I will be up to this school year! 

What are your career plans as of now? Or current career? Let me know in the comments! Also, if you have any specific questions for me I’d be happy to answer!  

-Hannah

27 thoughts on “Who am I Going to Be? 

  1. Good luck! Sounds really interesting. I have a question in general – there`s something I just can`t understand. What grades are college? Is it from year 11-13 there or? I mean, I`m about to start my year 13, and here they call it high school in English. I`d love it if you cleared it up, haha.

    Like I said I`m in year 13, and here you only pick some subjects you are interested it or must have for a certain degree. But, some of those aren`t a must for further education, so unlike you, I don`t have to decide yet what I want to do. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There really is! It’s crazy how many careers that are out there that you’ve never even heard of! It’s scary, yet comforting in a way because I know there’s something for everyone.

    Like

  3. In America the schooling is basically preschool for when you are 3 to 5 years old, kindergarten when you are 5-6, then 1st grade through 5th grade is considered elementary school. 6th through 8th grade is normally middle school, and 9th through 12th is high school. When you are in 12th grade, you are ages 17-18. From then on we consider you in college! So college students are normally 18-21 years old. Of course there are people who aren’t though (there’s always exceptions!) Some people have to go for more than 4 years if their major needs more education, mine for example, requires 6 years rather than the typical 4 of college.

    Also, it’s dumb here, but in high school we have practically no classes that help with our degrees. There’s the standard classes and very limited options for a few electives. American high schools are very bad at helping kids decide what they want to do unless it’s math or science related. This may not apply to every school, but I can say for sure that a lot of people agree! It sucks because we are thrown into college fully expected to know what we want to do when we’ve hardly had the opportunity to try anything.

    Hopefully that helped a bit! I’m 18 by the way if that helps at all 🙂

    Like

  4. Exactly! The people that are not math and science basically just get no experience in their field. Oh well, we can make it work! At least most everyone is going in like that. Thank you for reading!

    Like

  5. We sure can! I guess it`s that way, because here, you need math and science for example the medicine line later on, but psychology isn`t a must to get into psychology later on. So maybe that`s the reason? I`m sure that, like you said, we`ll make it work. No problem! I try to read your blog every day now as I`ve found it. 😀

    Like

  6. Oh my, a couple of my friends are taking up similar degrees, but I never took the time to actually conduct research about the program. I’m so glad I stumbled upon your blog and found this post because it certainly made me see things in a different, more knowledgeable light. I’ve never wanted to pursue medicine or to become any kind of doctor (partly because I hate biology and partly because I can’t stand the sight of blood). But given different circumstances, maybe I would have given this a shot as well.

    Lovely post! And good luck with college and your future endeavors! I’m currently at my third year of college myself. (But we’re both nineteen. HAHAHA.)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m glad I was able to make you think about it in a different way! 🙂

    Yeah it’s really interesting how different countries consider “college” different levels of education! I wish you luck as well! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.