Girl Talk- “Looking Like Shit Today”

Something every girl tends to go through is the struggle of not looking the way they want to every single day. Whether it’s acne, sickness, allergies, a hangover, a bad hair day, your period, or just an off-day, sometimes things just get in the way of your perfect look.

Now don’t get me wrong, sometimes I can wear sweats and feel great about myself. But sometimes, it’s the opposite. Likewise, I can dress in the cutest outfit I own and sometimes something just feels…off.

What happens when you see people during one of these days? Well, the first thing that pops out of my mouth is, “Sorry, I look like shit today.” Or just apologizing for my appearance in some way because apparently it effects the people I’m with. (It doesn’t!)

I never really thought about it much, but I don’t think I’ve ever heard a boy apologize for his appearance. That’s not to say that it doesn’t happen or that they never feel like they look bad.

My boyfriend will sometimes say his hair looks bad, but he never apologizes for it.

Why do girls feel the need to apologize?

This is kind of an open-ended question because I don’t have an answer. I mean, my guess would be is that women are just under a lot of pressure by the media in regards to their looks. When they look anything less than airbrushed, it’s just not what a woman is “supposed to look like in public.” I guess part of it could be a people-pleaser mentality for some girls. (Including me!)

Now that I’m thinking about it, I apologize every time I don’t wear makeup when I see my boyfriend. This happens often because I know he doesn’t mind if I don’t wear it, and most of the time I’m over we end up taking a nap so I don’t want to get makeup everywhere.

Does anyone else have an apologizing problem!?

But in all seriousness ladies (and gents!), don’t feel like you ever need to apologize to someone for the way you look. Chances are, they are still your friend and didn’t even notice in the first place. Everyone has off days, and I think most people are human enough to understand that.

Feel free to comment below and share stories/comments/anything!

If you are interested, check out my other Girl Talk posts and leave a comment on those! Check them all out HERE!

If you have any sort of suggestion for a topic for next time, feel free to leave a comment, or email me at ablissfullife@gmail.com

-Hannah

3 thoughts on “Girl Talk- “Looking Like Shit Today”

  1. This is such an important post 😄
    My teacher has banned all of us girls from saying “I’m sorry if I’m wrong” which is good as it gives you more confidence in yourself
    😄

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.