Remember: Pale is Beautiful Too!

With summer nearing us, I wanted to make this post as somewhat of a PSA.

Honestly, I’ve never thought this deeply into tanning before so if you’re reading this like “what the hell is hannah talking about?” then I do not blame you. But maybe just maybe, someone out there agrees, or at least gets the point I’m trying to make.

Disclaimer: I’m not bashing fake tanning, I totally respect whatever you decide to do with your body! And don’t let the title distract from tan people’s beauty. We are all unique and beautiful. I’m just pointing something out that I happened to think of the other day.

Especially in America, I’m not entirely sure about other countries, but we really value tanned skin, especially in the summer. Everyone wants to be tan. There’s spray tans, there’s tanning lotion, there’s tanning beds, there’s laying in the sun all day. Whatever people choose to do, they want to be tan.

Some of these options are safer than others. Tanning lotion, for example, is typically preferred over laying in the blistering heat all day in regard to safety. People don’t want to look orange though, which I think fake tans are more likely to become rather than natural ones. So it’s worth the risk, and a lot of people choose to expose themselves to ultraviolet rays.

Now as a naturally very pale individual who does not tan, I feel this tremendous pressure. I always want to be tan. I never thought about it really until now, but I do. I run with just a sports bra to try to get my stomach more tan. I lay outside in the summer in my bathing suit. I really wish I could be one of those people who steps outside and tans, but I’m just not.

And that’s ok.

Why is it that when someone is negative towards their body type or shape that we immediately stop them and encourage them? Why is it that when someone is physically harming themselves to get a certain body shape we want to help them?

Why don’t we feel that same way about people who literally expose themselves to ultraviolet rays and risk getting skin cancer and harming themselves in the long run?

It’s kinda strange to me, like we are still putting our body’s through something it’s not necessarily supposed to be put through. We risk so much…and all for a color?

This society is crazy to me.

Honestly, I don’t mind being pale, but I think I’ll always wish I was tanner. What my point is though, is if you are pale, don’t feel pressured to tan if you don’t want to. Embrace your natural color, and don’t let anyone tell you that you are too white

But if you guys have any thoughts on the topic, I’d love to hear them 🙂

-Hannah

 

 

 

