Twenty One Pilots Concert – 5.31.16

So if you are a fan of Twenty One Pilots and would like to know my concert experience, this is the post for you!

First, I’m going to do a brief summary. I will warn you guys when I am talking about the actual concert and setlist. If you do NOT want to hear what happens on their EMØTIONAL RØADSHØW Tour, than make sure you read the bold titles. I’ll be as specific as I can in these titles so that you can pick and choose what you want to hear and what you don’t. Warning: This post will probably be long…so seriously, only read what you care about.

My History With Twenty One Pilots:

Well, I heard Car Radio almost 4 years ago. I thought it was weird. I didn’t like it much at all to be honest. Never thought twice about the band afterwards.

Over a year and a half ago, literally a week after my boyfriend Tyler and I started dating he said to me, and I kid you not, “If you don’t like Twenty One Pilots I’m going to have to break up with you.” He’s been a fan since before Vessel came out and Regional at Best was still available.

So I gave them another try. They weren’t as bad this time around. My brother liked them at this point so I borrowed his copy of Vessel and copied it onto my phone.

They quickly began to climb up the ladder as one of my favorite bands. I guess I should insert a thank you to my boyfriend… 🙂

General Admission and Lining Up for the Show

I did not have general admission tickets. But, in case some of you do or know someone who does, at my venue people were lining up at 3pm the DAY BEFORE THE SHOW. I got there around 4 the day of the show and the lines were almost wrapping around the whole arena.

I’ve heard the general admission pit is insanely rough from multiple people. My friend who went to see them last night was front row barricade and ended up going to the back because she was being pushed around so much. (She still had a great time!)

Just make sure that you are careful, and if you feel uncomfortable it won’t be the end of the world to move back to where you can enjoy the show better.

Tour Merch

If you are interested in seeing what merchandise is available at this tour, click on THIS LINK.  I bought the tour t-shirt. My friend bought the skull tank top, and my boyfriend bought the Blurryface vinyl, the black and white t-shirt that says Twenty One Pilots, and a flag.

The Opening Acts

Chef’Special and MUTEMATH. I really enjoyed both of them. Check them out if you are interested 🙂

THE SETLIST (please note it could be different at each concert, I honestly have no idea). THIS IS PURELY JUST THE SONGS OR PARTS OF SONGS THAT WERE SUNG.

  • Fairly Local
  • Heavydirtysoul
  • Migraine
  • Hometown
  • Polarize
  • We Don’t Believe What’s On TV
  • The Judge
  • Lane Boy
  • Ode to Sleep
  • Medley- The Pantaloon, Fall Away, Johnny Boy, Forest, Addict With a Pen, March to The Sea, Kitchen Sink
  • Doubt
  • Holding Onto You
  • Covers with the opening bands- Twist and Shout, Love Yourself, Jump Around
  • Ride
  • Stressed Out
  • Guns For Hands
  • Tear In My Heart
  • Car Radio
  • Encore- Goner, Trees

Unfortunately, they didn’t play my favorite song, which is Screen, but that’s alright. I’ll forgive them.

CLICK HERE FOR A SLIGHTY MORE DETAILED SETLIST.

THE SHOW. THIS PART WILL GIVE AWAY WHAT HAPPENED IN THE SHOW. DON’T READ IF YOU DON’T WANT TO KNOW. 

They came out in their ski masks, and sang the first few songs…(please forgive me, I might not remember exactly WHEN everything happened).

Tyler was playing on the piano when two guys came out with a sheet and covered him with it. You saw Tyler drop and a few seconds later he was singing right across from me in the crowd. I don’t know how that happened. But it was awesome.

The ERS intro played on the screens and it had a lot to do with Josh and what I believe is his version of Blurryface. Not entirely sure, hopefully this will become more clear as more shows happen and they talk about it more!

I loved how they played 11 minutes of their old songs. My boyfriend Tyler was especially excited since these were the songs that he first heard by them. It was truly a special thing to be a part of. They were on the “B” stage for the medley and Ode to Sleep as well.

During Holding On to You, the crowd held up Tyler. Which was slightly terrifying. I’m always afraid he’d going to fall!!!!

The covers were really nice as well. They introduced the opening bands out again to help them play and I thought that it was a nice gesture from Tyler and Josh to do that.

During Ride, the crowd help up Josh on his drum kit. This also terrifies me, but everything turned out well.

Guns for Hands is one of my favorites and I had such a great time singing along. At the end, Tyler got in a hamster ball and rolled over the crowd. Again, I was terrified, but it was SO COOL.

Josh Dun did a drum trio with two people in white suits. He also played the trumpet multiple times throughout the show.

Car Radio, even though I initially hated it, has worked it’s way up to be one of my favorite songs to sing. It’s crazy how things can change! I felt so connected during this song. Tyler got onto a platform and stood way above the crowd as he sang. It was powerful when he raised his fist in the air as the whole crowd followed.

During Trees, the last song, both Josh and Tyler had a drum on a platform and were held by the crowd.

Then, there was lots of confetti and My Heart Will Go On played.

OVERALL EXPERIENCE (Nothing is given away here)

11/10 would recommend. Honestly, I feel like even if you aren’t a fan, you would be entertained by their performance. There’s always something new and exciting. They interact with the crowd a lot as well.

It was amazing to be a part of the first show on this tour.

It was so cool to think that this band had been talking about that night for 6 whole years and I got to be a part of it.

I can’t wait to see what Twenty One Pilots do in the future! Especially since they represent my home state 🙂

CONCLUSION 

Do you guys like Twenty One Pilots?

If you have any questions feel free to ask me! If I can’t answer, I’m sure I know people who can 🙂

Also, I was going to include pictures, but my phone wasn’t very good for that so none of them turned out very well. I think the distance away I was was also a factor.

Well, if you read this whole post I’m shocked.

If you did not, I don’t blame you. I had no choice but to be surprised since I went to the first show, but I totally respect that you don’t want to know EVERYTHING that happened, especially if you are planning on attending a show yourself.

If you guys get the chance to see these guys live, definitely take the chance! You will not be disappointed.

-Hannah

 

 

4 thoughts on “Twenty One Pilots Concert – 5.31.16

  1. I love TØP!!! I saw them live a while ago, they were so good. And funny story, I was actually in some of their promo videos for the emotional roadshow tour haha!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.